Cooking (and eating healthy) for one

Why does it seem easier to cook a meal for a family than just for oneself?

My husband has had to travel a great deal lately and I just can’t seem to find the energy to cook when he’s gone!

If you have the same problem, realize you probably DON’T have the same energy! Your schedules have been disrupted and you may not be getting the same amount of sleep. When everyone is home, someone pretty much has to cook especially if there are kids in the house. You do what you have to do but your body thanks you for a good meal!

This morning I’m setting a sweet potato on the counter. When I get home, all I’ll have to do is turn on the oven and cook the thing for an hour. I’ll have something hot, filling and nutrious to eat and the house will get warmed up. If my sweetie’s schedule doesn’t lighten up, I may be looking at some toaster ovens too.

I think the key is to plan some quick meals – have some boneless, skinless chicken breast to sizzle and a few fresh veggies to steam. If nothing else, stop at the market and pick up a few frozen dinners. Get the junk food out of your house so that it isn’t an option. Consider eating lunch out and order a good hot meal.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cooking (and eating healthy) for one

  1. Joy says:

    Even when cooking for my family, I run into this. I just don’t have enough left in me at the end of the day to then cook something for everyone! I was at a friend’s house on Friday and she threw together a salad that I just loved and was impressed by the simplicity of it. Now she did find it “packaged” together at Costco, but to replicate it would be so simple: spinach leaves, mushrooms, boiled egg, red onion, grated parmasean cheese, bacon bits…mix with poppy seed dressing. It was so good and thoroughly satisfying! And could be thrown together in MINUTES. Add that to your baked sweet potato and it would make for a fabulous dinner!

  2. leanandgreen says:

    That’s a great idea Joy. Salads are so easy to make and they definitely boost the quality of a meal.

  3. gandcdotcom says:

    Since I try to make my plate 75% veggies (mostly green) meals are pretty easy to make during the week since salad is simple (my SO can make it) even when you make it with five different veggies and I love to steam other veggies and season with olive oil, good quality salt, spies etc at the table. I like to have chicken and fish, portioned out ahead of time. I take frozen meat out of the freezer the day before and prepare it (cut it up, marinade, etc) for the next evening. I am working on making the weekday meals as efficient, yet healthy as possible.

  4. leanandgreen says:

    @gandcdotcom – portioning out chicken and fish is a fantastic idea that I never considered! I’ll definitely put that to use as cooking for one is happening more and more around here! Thanks so much for sharing!

Leave a Reply

